Department of Emergency Medicine Designated as a WHO Collaborating Centre for Emergency and Trauma Care
caring for patients, training physicians, and advancing emergency research
caring for patients, training physicians, and advancing emergency research

Congratulations to our 2017-2018 4th Quarter Bedside Teaching Award winners, Dr. Bill Whetstone at UCSF Parnassus and Dr. Renee Hsia at ZSFG. 

At our Mission Bay campus, the semi-annual bedside teaching award is presented to Dr. Aaron Kornblith (pictured).

Our EM residents honor faculty members for their teaching abilities. This quarterly bedside teaching award is for the ED attending at each clinical site who stands out for their bedside teaching skills and ability to provide constructive feedback to the EM residents. This award can only be awarded once per academic year to any given individual.

Congratulations to our 2017-2018 3rd Quarter Bedside Teaching Award winners, Dr. Kavita Gandhi at UCSF Parnassus (pictured) and Dr. David Thompson at ZSFG.

Dr. Esther Chen, Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine and Associate Residency Program Director, received the UCSF Excellence and Innovation in Graduate Medical Education award at the UCSF GME Celebration and QI Symposium on June 18, 2018, at the UCSF Kalmanovitz Library at Parnassus Heights. 

Dr. Maria Raven, Associate Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine, was selected as this year's AWAEM (Academy for Women in Academic Emergency Medicine) Mid-Career Faculty Award winner. 

Dr. Nida Degesys received the prestigious 2018 SAEM Resident Educator Award at the SAEM Annual Meeting in Indianapolis on May 17. This award is given to a single resident in the country and "recognizes an SAEM resident who has demonstrated exceptional aptitude and passion for teaching during residency."


Employment Opportunities

For inquiries about academic or faculty positions, please visit the UCSF AP recruitment page. For staff positions, visit UCSF Careers.

Annual Report

Continuing Medical Education

The Emergency Medicine program sponsors several courses each year designed to meet the needs of practicing physicians.