UCSF Medical Center Annual Patient Safety Award

The efforts of the Emergency Department Sepsis Team have been rewarded with UCSF Medical Center's Annual Patient Safety Award. The ED Sepsis Team is a truly multidisciplinary effort spearheaded by Dr. Chris Fee, Dr. Eric Suess, Tina Quon, RN, Sarah Maloney, RN, Andrew Maruoka, RN, and Megan Pintens, Pharm D. The team has taken a multi-pronged approach to improve the recognition of patients with severe sepsis and septic shock, including on-going education of all ED providers, development of automated screening in APeX (thanks to Andrew Maruoka, RN), real-time case review and feedback to providers, and more meetings than you can imagine. These efforts and the incredible patient care of all our ED providers has translated into sepsis bundle compliance that leads the Medical Center (consistently exceeding the target goal for the year). This is critical since >80% of these patients in our Medical Center first present to the ED. The ultimate goal, of course, is to reduce mortality and our latest data suggests that we are succeeding.