Nimble patient care, high-impact research, career-defining education
DEM Receives 2024 Outstanding Department Award for Excellence and Innovation in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Emergency Medicine

The Department of Emergency Medicine provides comprehensive emergency care to a medically, socially, and ethnically diverse local and referral population at four academic hospitals across the San Francisco Bay Area, including:

Each year, we treat approximately 175,000 patients across these sites. Our faculty also provides patient care in the UCSF Fresno (Community Regional Medical Center) Emergency Department, where we see an average of 120,000 patients annually.

Collaboration is key, not only to our ethos, but also to support a more equitable health care system. We partner with colleagues across disciplines to foster solutions to challenges in emergency medicine and identify opportunities to improve care. This approach ensures the highest standards of emergency medical service for all patients, including those from underserved populations.

In addition to delivering evidence-based, patient-centered care, our department is shaping the future of emergency medicine through education and research. We offer two ACGME-accredited emergency medicine residency programs — one in San Francisco and one in Fresno. These programs are complemented by 10 fellowship programs. 

Our robust team of emergency medicine physicians are residency-trained and board-certified/-eligible in Emergency Medicine and/or Pediatric Emergency Medicine and hold appointments in the UCSF School of Medicine. Many of our faculty are recognized as national and international leaders in emergency medicine research, education, and health policy.

Learn More

Join our team

View current openings:

Academic & Faculty Positions

Staff Positions

Connect with us

Follow us on:





Make a gift

Your generosity empowers us to continue creating impact — in the Bay Area and beyond. Gifts to the Department of Emergency Medicine support our clinical care and research, as well as scholarships and awards benefiting the next generation of emergency medicine experts.