Christopher Colwell, MD

Chief of Emergency Medicine at ZSFG
Vice Chair and Professor of Emergency Medicine
Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital

UCSF School of Medicine
1001 Potrero Avenue, Suite 6A
San Francisco, CA 94143-1377

BS: University of Michigan
MD: Dartmouth Medical School
Residency: Denver Health Emergency Medicine
Board Certification: Emergency Medicine

Christopher Colwell, MD, FACEP, was appointed chief of Emergency Medicine at Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital and Trauma Center, on July 1, 2016. Dr. Colwell received his bachelor of science degree from University of Michigan and his medical doctorate from Dartmouth Medical School. He completed residency training in emergency medicine at Denver Health where he served as chief resident. He is a fellow of the American College of Emergency Physicians.

Dr. Colwell was formerly chief of the Department of Emergency Medicine at Denver Health and professor and executive vice chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at University of Colorado School of Medicine. He is a leader in Emergency Medical Services (EMS), serving for over a decade as medical director for the Denver Paramedic Division, medical director for the Denver Fire Department, and EMS fellowship director. He was the senior associate EM residency director at Denver Health and is an ABEM oral examiner. He served on the Board of Directors for Colorado ACEP, and serves on a number of state and national EMS and trauma committees. He has been honored with multiple awards for his contributions to EMS and trauma care, and has published more than 100 manuscripts or book chapters in the areas of prehospital, emergency and trauma care.

University and National Positions:
American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM) Oral Board Examiner

Best Authors in Adult Emergency Medicine, UpToDate - Wolters Kluwer, 2017
Career Service Award, Denver Health and Hospital Association, Medical Staff Awards, 2016
The Petern Rosen Leadership Award from the Denver Health Residency in Emergency Medicine, 2016
The Corey M. Slovis Award for Excellence in Education. U.S. Metropolitan Municipalities EMS Medical Directors Consortium, February, 2015
Positively Collaborative Award for outstanding collaboration towards the improvement of Colorado’s trauma system. Trauma Program, Colorado
Department of Public Health and Environment, January, 2012
The Vincent J. Markovchick Program Director’s Award 2011
Distinctive Service Award – Denver Paramedic Division 2010
Chief Executive Officer Special Commendation Award for expert medical leadership of Denver’s 911 system, 2009
Mayor’s Award of Appreciation for assistance and aid to Hurricane Katrina evacuees. 2005
Ernest E. Moore Award for Outstanding Contributions in Trauma Care, 2000
Outstanding Senior Resident, 1996