Frequent ED Users audiocast

October 4, 2012
Ellen Weber, MD, and Maria Raven, MD, were invited as expert panelists by Dr. Rob Scott, CEO of Phoenix Physicians, to discuss “Frequent ED Users: Latest Approaches to Management.” This was broadcast by Phoenix Physicians on September 27th. To listen to the call in its entirety, the full audio recording is accessible here.

Academy of Medical Educators Excellence in Teaching Award

August 22, 2012
The Academy of Medical Educators has recognized six of our faculty members with the Excellence in Teaching Award. Congratulations to John Brown, MD; Stacy Sawtelle, MD; Nathan Teismann, MD; David Thompson, MD, MPH; Ralph Wang, MD; and Lori Weichenthal, MD. They will be honored at the Annual Celebration of New Members event on September 24 in room N-225 on the Parnassus campus at 3:30 p.m.

Academy of Medical Educators - New Members

August 15, 2012
Congratulations to Dr. David Duong, Dr. Gregory Hendey and Dr. Kenny Banh (picture at left) who have been selected for membership in The Haile T. Debas Academy of Medical Educators. They will be inducted into the Academy on Monday, September 24, at 3:30 p.m. in Room N-225 on the Parnassus campus. The Department of Emergency Medicine has the highest rate of membership in the Academy among San Francisco faculty with 16% of our faculty, followed by Family & Community Medicine (12%), Pediatrics (10%), OB-GYN (9%), and Medicine (5%).

The UCSF Department of Emergency Medicine is currently enrolling patients for the STONE trial

May 25, 2012

The STONE trial is a fifteen site randomized controlled trial comparing CT scan vs. Radiology performed ultrasound vs. point of care ultrasound for emergency department patients with suspected kidney stone.

Renee Y. Hsia

April 23, 2012

Dr. Hsia's research on appendicitis admissions across California was published on April 23, 2012, in the Archives of Internal Medicine: "Health Care as a "Market Good"? Appendicitis as a Case Study." Her team found that after studying over 19,000 patients who were admitted for uncomplicated appendicitis in patients aged 18-59 with a hospital stay of 3 days or less and had a routine discharge home, hospital charges ranged from $1529 to $182,955.