2019-2020 Chief Residents

March 9, 2019

Congratulations to our 2019-2020 chief residents Drs. Cortlyn Brown, Winnie Chan, & Jessica Chow!

Dr. William Whetstone discusses Spinal Cord Injury (SCI) Research Priorities

February 25, 2019

Dr. William Whetstone, Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine, represented Emergency Medicine at the "SCI 2020: Planning for a Decade for Disruption in Spinal Cord Injury Research" conference held February 12 at the National Institutes of Health campus in Bethesda, Maryland. He was on a panel that will help determine the spinal cord injury research priorities for the next five to ten years. 

UCSF Fresno’s Dr. Gene W. Kallsen, an EM trailblazer, says goodbye

February 24, 2019

Dr. Gene Kallsen, former Chief of Emergency Medicine at UCSF Fresno, retired from UCSF in December 2018. Dr. Kallsen wore numerous hats during his 40 years with UCSF, starting as a resident in the UCSF Fresno EM program in 1977. His legacy will continue through the Gene W. Kallsen, MD, Endowed Chair in Emergency Medicine. 

Dr. Kenny Banh Launches HEal Mobile Clinic

February 22, 2019

Dr. Kenny Banh, Associate Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine and Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Medical Education, launched the UCSF-Fresno Health Education and Learning (HEal) mobile clinic which has the three-part mission of improving access to care in the San Joaquin Valley, training the next generation of physicians and increasing diversity in the medical profession. Dr. Bahn received the California Medical Association's (CMA) Compassionate Service Award for 2018.


Quarterly Bedside Teaching Award

January 25, 2019

Congratulations to our 2018-2019 2nd Quarter Bedside Teaching Award winners, Dr. Susan Lambe (pictured) at UCSF Parnassus and Dr. Michelle Lin at ZSFG. At our Mission Bay campus, the semi-annual bedside teaching award is presented to Dr. Sonny Tat.

ZSFG ED Social Medicine Team receives CAPH/SNI Quality Leaders Award

December 6, 2018

Dr. Hemal Kanzaria, Associate Professor of Clinical Emergency Medicine, leads a multidisciplinary Social Medicine team from ZSFG and San Francisco Health Network (SFHN) that was awarded the prestigious statewide 2018 CAPH/SNI Quality Leaders Award for their work to meet social needs of ZSFG ED patients. The California Health Care Safety Net Institute (SNI) is the 501c3 affiliate of the California Association of Public Hospitals and Health Systems (CAPH) and supports California’s public health care systems in their efforts to improve care delivery. The award, and a video celebrating the team, were presented at the CAPH/SNI Annual Conference on December 6. Their work was showcased in the 2018 UCSF Chancellor's State of the University Address on October 30.

Dr. Cortlyn Brown receives Chancellor Award for Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Leadership

November 10, 2018

Dr. Cortlyn Brown, third-year resident of the UCSF-SFGH Emergency Medicine Residency Program, was one of three recipients of the Chancellor Award for Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Leadership. Dr. Brown was recognized for her dedication to increasing opportunities for a diverse and inclusive workforce in medicine and her outstanding commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion.

Dr. Ingrid Lim receives Charlotte Baer Memorial Award

November 1, 2018

Dr. Ingrid Lim, Volunteer Assistant Clinical Professor of Emergency Medicine, received the 2018 Charlotte Baer Memorial Award from the UCSF Volunteer Clinical Faculty Advisory Board at the Teaching Awards Ceremony on October 30. This award is presented annually to a member of the volunteer clinical faculty of the School of Medicine in recognition of distinguished service.

Dr. Nicolaus Glomb receives Faculty Professionalism and Respect Award

October 31, 2018

Dr. Nicolaus (Nick) Glomb, Assistant Clinical Professor of Emergency Medicine and Pediatrics, received the 2017-2018 Maxine Papadakis Award for Faculty Professionalism and Respect at UCSF School of Medicine in the Emergency Medicine Department. This honor reflects the deep appreciation felt by third- and fourth-year medical students who nominated Dr. Glomb for this teaching award, which was presented at the UCSF School of Medicine Teaching Awards Ceremony on October 30, 2018.

Dr. Christopher Peabody receives Outstanding Coach Award

October 30, 2018

Dr. Christopher (Toff) Peabody, Assistant Clinical Professor of Emergency Medicine, received the 2017-18 Bridges Curriculum - Foundations 1 and 2 Teaching Award for Outstanding Coach. This award reflects high esteem and deep appreciation felt by medical students for his exemplary efforts as an educator. The award was presented on behalf of the UCSF Medical Student Classes of 2020 and 2021 at the UCSF School of Medicine Teaching Awards Ceremony on October 30, 2018.